Laser Engraver for Beginner

Discuss laser machine here freely.

Moderator: baker

reaper

Laser Engraver for Beginner

Post by reaper »

Hello everyone, name's Derik, I'm new to laser engraving and really would like to get into it. I've done a bit of research and haven't found anything that really matches to my criteria. I'm looking for a laser engraver that will engrave wood, the work area to roughly be about 20"x20", it can vary from that size but not a whole lot, easy to get replacement parts and easy to find and download software, I don't need anything super powerful, I believe 2.5W is right up my alley. Also, I'd like to stay under $250. I found something that caught my eye but haven't read into it much, it's a Eleksmaker A3 Pro. A setup like that would be ideal for what I plan on using it for. Anyone willing to help me out with a few recommendations?
chetvaldes

Re: Laser Engraver for Beginner

Post by chetvaldes »

Hi Derek,
I bought the same unit about 6 months ago and after a lot of time spent learning how to edit images, convert to a format the laser software can use, and trying different free laser softwares, I finally am able to cut gaskets out of paper and card stock, which was the intended goal (I use a lot of gaskets in my work). Overall, I've been very happy with it, and have enjoyed the time I've spent learning how to use it.
Be advised the maximum working area on this unit is 30 x 40 cm (11.5 x 15.5"). This machine takes a little time to assemble, and lots of time to master, but there are lots of Youtube videos out there showing how its done. The machine has some minor quirks, but nothing serious, and since it's so popular, there's a lot of information available online on how to modify, tweak, and upgrade it.