How to cut silicone liner paper multiple sheets

Discuss laser machine here freely.

Moderator: baker

Unreatrap

How to cut silicone liner paper multiple sheets

Post by Unreatrap »

I'm trying to cut label liner, silicone coated. We need at least 10 thick. All common logic dictates that you should not cut more than one thick.
Are there any tips tricks to cutting more than 1 sheet at a time...?
I was thinking something along the lines of high suction to evacuate the air rapidly thus extinguishing the flame?
Or I read about clamping down the pieces with magnets, thus removing excess air via clamping?
Would there be any benefit in a sacrificial heavier non-flammable material on top and or bottom to weep away some of the heat?

I'm new to all of this, so please bare this in mind...
Jefferybarf

Re: How to cut silicone liner paper multiple sheets

Post by Jefferybarf »

a vacuum environment will help but as yet I've never had any real success cutting multiple non metal sheet materials that aren't bonded together. One method that does give *some* result is using spray mount on the layers to remove any air gaps between them but even that isn't great.
Unreatrap

Post by Unreatrap »

We've had good luck when a stack was bonded together via static, but then the adhesive gooed and made them difficult to separate. BY removing the waste matrix (non-printed label material outside the die line) the adhesive won't be an issue, but I doubt the sheets will lay as tightly together...
Robertmr

Post by Robertmr »

Unreatrap wrote:We've had good luck when a stack was bonded together via static, but then the adhesive gooed and made them difficult to separate. BY removing the waste matrix (non-printed label material outside the die line) the adhesive won't be an issue, but I doubt the sheets will lay as tightly together...