Is advanced training necessary to construct a microchip laser?

Discuss laser machine here freely.

Moderator: baker

preWarp

Is advanced training necessary to construct a microchip laser?

Post by preWarp »

Hello. I have little experience with construction of my own lasers. I would like to build a microchip laser. It is a special type of solid state laser. I am wondering what training I would need to succeed in building a microchip laser. Let me give you some background on myself. I have had taken basic courses in electronics and I am confident that I could build a xenon flashlamp pumped ND:YAG solid state laser. I have a book with designs by Iannnini.

However, it seems that the microchip laser has some kind of specialized construction. The best information is by professional organizations and is written for post graduate students. However, there are several such sources.

I am wondering if one really does need to take several courses in photonics just to understand the construction of
the microchip laser.

Thanks
hangrex5

Re: Is advanced training necessary to construct a microchip laser?

Post by hangrex5 »

Hello,

It's great to see your interest in building a microchip laser! Given your background in electronics and experience with solid-state lasers, you're well-equipped to start.

Here's a concise plan:

1. Learn the Basics of Photonics: Get familiar with photonics principles online or through short courses.

2. Study Microchip Lasers: Find resources on microchip laser construction and operation.

3. Hands-On Practice: Start with simpler laser projects to build skills.

4. Professional Literature: Gradually explore relevant professional literature.

5. Engage Online: Join laser technology forums for advice and networking.

Building a microchip laser may take time, but with determination and these steps, you'll be on the right track. Good luck!
jgarciaa

Post by jgarciaa »